Tech Task #12

The Future of Education. I believe the future of education has many amazing opportunities in store for educators and students! We have advanced technology that we can bring into our classrooms, not only to help students succeed, but to make learning exciting, fun, and stimulating! The two main changes revolve around collaboration and technology.

Collaboration. Collaborative learning is becoming more common in classrooms and schools, with technology as an important facilitator. Research has shown that learning is a social construct. This is not only beneficial to students, but teachers can also work together globally to create a better learning environment for their students. As an education student I am benefiting greatly from this trend. Through Twitter I am following teachers who are doing amazing things in their classroom. I can see what they are doing in their classroom, learn from them, and incorporate their ideas into my own teaching. Monica Burns, who I wrote about in my podcast blog, sent a reply to a question I had about her work on Twitter! The possibilities are almost endless!

Technology. With the introduction and implementation of technology into classrooms, the roles of educators is changing. Teachers are no longer providing expert-level knowledge to constructing learning environments. Anybody who owns a device that connects to the internet can find an answer to most basic questions in seconds.  Teachers should rather act as guides and mentors to students. They should model responsible global citizenship and motivate students to adopt lifelong learning habits by providing opportunities for students to direct their own learning.

Challenges. Collaboration and technology will not solve all problems in education, but rather if not utilized properly, can increase them. Creating authentic learning experiences and rethinking the roles of teachers are seen as solvable problems. In fact, many educators have already embraced these changes. Two of the more difficult challenges are advancing digital equity and scaling teaching innovations. Digital equity refers to unequal access to high-speed broadband, which ties in with the issue of social justice. If not all students have the same access to technology, it creates unfair learning opportunities among students.

I’m exciting about the direction education is going. I know that I will have students in my classroom that know a lot more about certain things that I do. I am completely ok with that! I want to help students with tasks they find challenging. I want to help students embrace their strengths and use them to become what they want to be. It’s definitely a challenge, but I’m up for it!

Information obtained from the Horizon Report.

Leave a Reply

